Jannik Hastrup has for more than 5 decades directed and delivered more than 100 animated films among these 14 features and as the director of some of the most beloved Danish animated children films, Hastrup has become an institution in Danish cinema. He has directed animated classics such as CIRCLEEN (created in 1957 and later on brought to the big screen in three features), BENNY’S BATHTUB (1971), SAMSON & SALLY (1984), WAR OF THE BIRDS (1990) and THE BOY WHO WANTED TO BE A BEAR (2003) just to mention a few.



(2018) Cirkeline, Coco og det vilde næsehorn/ Circleen, Coco and the wild rhinoceros (director)

(2014) Cykelmyggen og Minibillen / Mini and the Mozzies (director) (with Flemming Quist Møller) – in production

(2007) Cykelmyggen og Dansemyggen / A Tale of Two Mozzies (director) (with Flemming Quist Møller)
– Athens Olympia Int. Film Festival For Children, Special Mention (’08)
– Kristiansand International Children’s Film, Audience Award (’08) 

(2004) Cirkeline og verdens mindste superhelt / Little Big Mouse (director)

(2003) Drengen der ville gøre det umulige / The boy who wanted to be a bear (director)
– Festival Musique et Cinéma d’Auxerre (France) 2002, Special mention
– Kinderfilmfest, Berlin, 2003. Special Mention
– Buster Copenhagen Int. Childrens Film Festival ’03, Best Nordic feature film
– Chicago Int. Children’s Film Festival ’03: Adult Jury´s 1st Prize, Animation
– Chicago Int. Children’s Film Festival ’03: Children’s Jury’s 1st Prize, Animation
– Montevideo Divercine 2003:  Great.Prize GURI UNICEF Award
– Cartoon Preview in Asolo Italy 2003, Audience Award – Best Feature Animation
– Gijon.International Film Festival / Spain (’03), Children Jury’s 1st Prize
– Rencontres Int. du Cinéma d’Anim. de Wissembourg – France, ’03: Audience’s Prize – Best long feature.
– Athens Olympia Int. Film Festival for Children and Young People ’03, Best Music
– Thailand Animation Feature Film Festival ’05: Adult Jury’s 1st Prize
– Bankok Animation, Jury Award 1st Prize ’05

(2000) Cirkeline – Ost & Kærlighed / Mice and Romance (director)
– Sandnes FaBu Int’l Film Festival 2000: Special Mention
– Tokyo Kinder Film Festival, Best Feature Length Animation ’06.

(1998) Cirkeline – Storbyens Mus / City mice (director)
– Montevideo Divercine, Uruguay, Special Mention ’99.
– Chicago Int. Children’s Film Festival, Best Feature Length Animated Film ’00.

(1998) H.C. Andersen og Den Skæve Skygge / Hans Christian Andersen and The Long Shadow (director)
– Stuttgart Int. Trickfilm-Festival, CDT Telecom Prize, Best Feature Animation ’00.
– Avanca 2000, special mention

(1995) Aberne og Det Hemmelige Våben / The Secret Weapon (director)

(1990) Fuglekrigen / War of the Birds (director)
– Cannes International Film Festival, Best Film (Cannes Junior), ’91.
– Danish Film Academy Award, Robert, Best Sound, ’91.

(1987) Strit og Stumme / Subway to Paradise (director)
– Chicago Int. Children’s Film Festival, Best Feature Length Animated Film ’88.

(1984) Samson og Sally / Samson and Sally (director)
– Bourg-en-Bresse Children’s Animation , Jury’s First Prize, Best Film, ’86.
– Deutsche Jugend Video, 3rd Place, Jury’s Prize, ’86.
– Laon Int. Film Festival for Children, France, Jury’s Special Prize, ’86.
– Tomar Children’s Film Festival, Portugal, Best Children’s Film, ’86.


(2015) Blot en drengestreg / Just a Prank (director)
(2014) Asylbarn – Tefik, Når du falder skal du rejse dig igen / Asylum Child – Tefik, When you fall you get up again 
(2013) Asylbarn – Jamila, Gid jeg kunne flyve / Asylum Child – Jamila, If only I could fly (director)
(2013) Asylbarn – Solén, Jeg altid husker far / Asylum Child – Solén I always remember daddy (director)
(2010) Cirkeline i Fandango / Circleen in Fandango (director)
(2005) Krig og Kager / War & Peas (director)
– Nairobi, Lola Kenya Screen 2006: Mboni Award
– Poznan Ale Kino! International Children’s Film: 2nd. Price best animation film
– Seattle Children’s Film Festival 2007:  Audience Prize
(2005) You’ve got Sugar (director)
(2005) Eventyret om den dårlige samvittighed / A Tale about The Guilty Conscience (director)
(2001) Hund & Fisk/ Dog & Fish (director)
(1996) Tango Jalousie (director)
(1995) Birdland – 4 episodes (director)
(1993) Havets Sang / Song of the Sea (director)
(1992) Det er bare os Høns/ Aint Nobody here but us chickens (director)
(1991) Bjarne og Brittas Vidunderlige Verden/ The Wonderfull World of Barney and Betty (director)
(1988) Take Care (director)
(1985) Trylle og Tøjdyrene / Magic Mary and her puppets (director)
(1985) Roji Negra (director)
(1982) Hvordan det videre gik den Grimme Ælling / The futher adventures of the Ugly Duckling (director)
(1978) Trællene / The Thralls – 9 episodes (director)
(1977) Hellere rask og rig end syg og fattig / Better rich and healthy than poor and sick (director)
(1973) Historiebogen / The Historybook – 9 episodes (director)
(1972) Ønskebenet / The Wishbone (director)
(1967-71) Cirkeline / Circleen – 19 episodes (director)
(1970) Bennys Badekar/ Bennys Bathtub (director( (with Flemming Quist Møller)
– 1971, Bodil Award, special award
(1969) Regnbuen / The Rainbow (director)
(1969) Flodhesten / The Hippo (director)
(1969) Det store slæderøveri (director)
(1968) Drengen og månen – The boy and the moon
(1967) It don’t mean a thing  
(1966) Generalen / The General (director)
(1966) Slambert / Scoundrel (director) (with Flemming Quist Møller)
– 1967, Cracow Film Festival, Special Mention
(1966) Hvordan man opdrager sine forældre / How to bring up your parents (director) (with Flemming Quist Møller)
(1965) Skorstensfejeren gik en tur (director) (with Hans Henrik Ley)
(1965) Fagotten der fik ondt i maven (director) (with Hans Henrik Ley)
(1964) Concerto Erotica (director)
(1964) Agnete og Havmanden (director)


(1988) Bodil Awards, special award given for his assembled productions
(1971) Bodil Awards, special award given for Bennys Bathtub (shared with Flemming Quist Møller)